HOPE – German-Afghan-University Collaboration

The cooperation with Gawharshad University, which began in 2014 and was intensified in 2021 through a German-Afghan university cooperation project, could be continued in 2022 thanks to the support of the German Academic Exchange Service with funds from the German Foreign Office.
In this project, two of the previous focus areas could be continued and two new focus areas could be added due to the changed situation.
First, the focus is on improving academic writing skills through the establishment of a writing center and the training of writing consultants. Secondly, based on the needs analysis of the STEWS project, the certificate for higher education didactics could be modified and finalized to fit the new conditions in the academic higher education landscape in Afghanistan after the Taliban took over power. Lecturers are trained in a train-the-trainer approach and empower other lecturers in a certificate program adapted to the latest findings of teaching research, existing examples of good practice and the expressed wishes.
In addition, a second focus is on cooperation with Afghan scientists who have come to Germany. On the one hand, a network will be established to support them in various matters (integration-related, private, professional, scientific). On the other hand, a working place for Afghanistan will be established at the University of Education Freiburg, which will bundle the manifold activities concerning Afghanistan and where different activities such as lectures, advanced training, and joint research activities will be implemented.
You will find recurring information on current activities here.

HOPE: Deutsch-Afghanische Hochschulkooperation

Die 2014 begonnene und 2021 durch das deutsch-afghanische Hochschulkooperationsprojekt STEWS intensivierte Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Gawharshad konnte dank der Unterstützung des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes mit Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes 2022 fortgesetzt werden.
In diesem Projekt konnten zwei der bisherigen Schwerpunkte fortgeführt und zwei neue Schwerpunkte aufgrund der veränderten Situation hinzugefügt werden.
Erstens der Fokus auf die Verbesserung der akademischen Schreibkompetenz durch die Einrichtung eines Schreibzentrums und die Ausbildung von Schreibberatern. Zweitens könnte das Zertifikat für Hochschuldidaktik auf der Grundlage der Bedarfsanalyse des STEWS-Projekts modifiziert und an die neuen Bedingungen der akademischen Hochschullandschaft in Afghanistan nach der Machtübernahme durch die Taliban angepasst werden. Dozenten werden in einem Train-the-Trainer-Ansatz geschult und befähigen andere Dozenten in einem Zertifikatsprogramm, das an die neuesten Erkenntnisse der Lehrforschung, bestehende Beispiele guter Praxis und die geäußerten Wünsche angepasst ist.
Ein zweiter Schwerpunkt ist die Zusammenarbeit mit afghanischen Wissenschaftlern, die nach Deutschland gekommen sind. Zum einen soll ein Netzwerk aufgebaut werden, das sie in verschiedenen Belangen (integrationsbezogen, privat, beruflich, wissenschaftlich) unterstützt. Zum anderen wird an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Freiburg eine Arbeitsstelle für Afghanistan eingerichtet, die die vielfältigen Aktivitäten zu Afghanistan bündelt und in der verschiedene Aktivitäten wie Vorträge, Fortbildungen und gemeinsame Forschungsaktivitäten durchgeführt werden.
Hier finden Sie wiederkehrende Informationen zu aktuellen Aktivitäten.